Uncategorized

Infinite Choices

img_20170108_155821

It is year 2030, and I am standing in front of this virtual supermarket trying to choose from the thousands of different food products sampled here.
With the help of my AI assistant, I call my virtual nutritionist, “between Voiletberry and Justlike-berry, which is the  most healthy one for my body type?” I asked. “Hover over the part that reads ‘NTR’ and you will see the body types that tolerates each”, it would reply.

Back to the garage  trying to master my newly acquired telecar, my autoresponder called in to report that my bodydoc@ is beeping. As I stood up to go check it out, I felt a spasm on the left side of my body. Pausing for a minute I adjusted my 4D printed cloth, making sure it was not the culprit.

Now observing carefully the bodydoc@ machine; paying attention to every word and watching it as it opens up each organ in my body trying to figure out where the problem could be from, it finally stopped at the region between my stomach and the large intestine and revealed something looking like a synthetic material, unable to be digested.

Days after that incident, I still think about the fact that though there are many choices out there in the world of food, there are actually fewer options – those with valid and proven claims.
I’m going to help make the good ones the norm and not the exception because I am gradually realizing that ‘atara ugba atara ose’ food is something that affects us all.

Post Script: Sadly, the availability of many choices these days does not equal to increased quantity of healthy and nutritious foods. On the contrary, food companies still focus on ‘how much’ and not necessarily ‘how well’ – making it a case of ‘water everywhere yet not a drop to drink.

Everyone should help to make the food of the future – healthy.

Meaning of words:
Atara ugba atara ose – whatever be the case…

Standard

6 thoughts on “Infinite Choices

  1. Pingback: Infinite Choices | foodheritagehub

Leave a Reply

